Eric Holttum Gold Medal

This Gold Medal was established in 1964 to commemorate the late Prof Eric Holttum’s contribution to orchid growing in the Southeast Asian region. The objective of the medal is to encourage and foster local hybridization programmes. It is given only to orchid breeders who are resident in Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei. The medal is engraved with a protrait of Prof R E Holttum. To be considered for the Gold Medal, an exhibitor shall have exhibited a local hybrid or a species in an OSSEA show or display. The plant should have been awarded a First Class Certificate (FCC) or an Award of Merit (AM) by OSSEA. Here, the definition of a local hybrid or species is a plant that has been raised from seed originated in Singapore, Malaysia or Brunei.


Year Recipient Plant
2020 Mr Law Moi Hwa Papilionanda Ng Boon Gee ‘Jonathan Law’ AM/OSSEA
(Pda. Mevr. L. Velthuis x V. Poy Thong)
2014 Mr David Lim Dendrobium Margaret Thatcher ‘Iron Lady’ AM/OSSEA
(Den. Concham x Den. lasianthera)
2011 Mr Tan Chin Heong Aranda Broga Giant ‘Bright Garden’ AM/OSSEA
(Aad. Pembantu Farmasi x V. Gordon Dillon)
2006 Mr Neo Tuan Hong Dendrobium Catherine Jane Tkatchenko ‘Hong’ AM/OSSEA
(Den. Masako Taki x Den. lasianthera)
2004 Mr Neo Tuan Hong Dendrobium Tan Kheng Lian ‘Hong’ AM/OSSEA
(Den. Siah Ko-Ko x Den. Yellow Curls)
1999 Mr How Wai Ron Renantanda How Yin Mun ‘Michelle’ AM/OSSEA
(Ren. Tom Thumb x V. Fuchs Gold)
1997  Mr Syed Yusof Alsagoff Aranda Zaleha Alsagoff ‘Nong’ FCC/OSSEA
(Aad. Khaw Phaik Suan x V. Rasri Gold)
1992 Mr Lum Hon Renantanda Christie Low ‘Hew Fook Yoong’ AM/OSSEA
(Ren. Nancy Chandler x V. Memoria Choo Laikuen)
1987 Mr David Lim Phalaenopsis Amber Delite ‘Benjamin’ AM/OSSEA
(Phal. amboinensis x Phal. Teoh Tee Teong)
1977 Mr Syed Yusof Alsagoff Aranda Ang Hee Seng ‘Maryland Nursery’ AM/OSSEA
(Arach. Maroon Maggie x V. Dawn Nishimura)
1975 Mr How Yee Peng Aranda How Yee Peng ‘Wai Beng’ AM/OSSEA
(Aad. Tay Theng Suan x V. Dawn Nishimura)
1974 Mr Lai Ah Weng Vanda Buddy Choo ‘Teck Chin’ AM/OSSEA
(V. Yup Sum Wah x V. sanderiana)
1973 Mr Chan Swie Ying Renanstylis Azimah ‘Teo Choo Hong’ AM/OSSEA
(Ren. Nancy Chandler x Rhy. gigantea)
1972 Mr Loi Teck Foo Dendrobium Ho King ‘River King’ AM/OSSEA
(Den. Indonesia x Den. taurinum)
1970 Mr Robert Corbett Phalaenopsis Valentinii ‘Nellie Corbett’ AM/OSSEA
(Phal. violacea x Phal. cornu-cervi)
1969 Mr Tan Nai Hee Dendrobium Tan Nai Hee ‘ Tentram’ AM/OSSEA
(Den. Bea Kathleen x Den. Margie Thomas) 
1968 Mr Wong Leong Fatt Aranda Christine ‘Pang Gan’ AM/OSSEA
(Arach. hookeriana x V. Hilo Blue)
1967 Mr Wong Leong Fatt Aranda Hee Nui ‘Khoo’ AM/OSSEA
(Arach. Ishbel x V. Eisenhower)
1966 Mr Lee Kim Hong Renantanda Welcome Glow ‘Mandai’ AM/OSSEA
(V. insignis x Ren. coccinea)
1965 Mr A. J. Braga Dendrobium Peggy Shaw ‘Dolores Jansen’ AM/AOS
(Den. Lava x Den. Lim Chong Min)
1964 Mr Chia Kay Heng Mayara Charlie Mason ‘Seng Heng’ AM/MOS
(Pda. T.M.A. x Ren. storiei)


We welcome and include members with a wide range of orchid growing knowledge & experience. Members range from beginners to expert, professional growers.

Join Us